Live Meeting

Future Date Is Here!

Published Sunday, December 15, 19 | By PaulvHill

The United States shares international land borders with two nations: The Russia – United States maritime boundary was defined by a disputed agreement covering the Bering Sea, Bering Strait, and the Arctic Ocean. The International Date Line essentially acts as the de facto border between the two nations; the USA ratified the USSR-USA Maritime Boundary Agreement, but the USSR failed to ratify it before dissolving, and it was subsequently never ratified by Russia. During the winter, travel between Russia's uninhabited Big Diomede Island and Alaska's Little Diomede Island with a population of 110 is theoretically possible, although not legal, on some occasions when ice flowing through the Bering Strait clogs between the two islands.

Posted in American Borders | Leave a comment