Live Meeting

Future Date Is Here!

Published Sunday, December 15, 19 | By PaulvHill

contributed by Ronna Fleischman The current organizational structure of America’s military was created by the National Security Act of 1947. This act also created the Air Force and restructured the “War Department” into the Department of Defense. The Department of Defense is headed by the Secretary of Defense, appointed by the President of the United States.  There are five military branches: The Army, Air Force, Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard. The Army is commanded by a four-star general, known as the Army Chief of Staff, who reports to the Secretary of the Army. The top member of the Air Force is the Air Force Chief of Staff, a four-star general who reports to the Secretary of the Air Force. The Navy is commanded by a four-star admiral, called the Chief of Naval Operations. And the Marines are commanded by a 4-star general called the Commandant of the Marine Corps.  These four “flag officers” make up a group called the Joint Chiefs of Staff (JSC). For operational matters (such as war or conflict), the JCS by-pass the individual service secretaries and report directly to the Secretary of Defense and the President. Read More 

Posted in Military | Leave a comment